School of Mathematical Sciences

The School of Mathematical Sciences was founded in 2008 on the basis of its predecessor, the Department of Mathematics established in 1957 when IMU was founded. At present the college consists of four teaching units, namely the Department of Fundamental Mathematics, the Department of Applied Mathematics, the Department of Information and Computer Science and the Section of College Mathematics Teaching and Research and offers four undergraduate majors, namely Mathematics and Applied Mathematics, Information and Computer Science, Statistics and the Mathematical Base Class.

  The school is authorized for offering 1 doctoral program at the level of primary discipline for Mathematical Science, one doctoral program at the level of secondary discipline for Applied Mathematics and one master’s program at the level of primary discipline for Mathematical Science covering Fundamental Mathematics, Applied Mathematics, Operations Research and Control Theory, Computational Mathematics, Probability Theory and Mathematical Statistics. The major of Applied Mathematics ranks among the earliest key disciplines at provincial level. Currently there are 63 teachers on the staff of the college nearly 900 students on enrolment.

  Over the past six decades since the founding of IMU, the school has always been adhering to the traditional concept of "rigorous scholarship", attached great significance to the quality of education, advocated scientific innovation, and has cultivated more than 4,000 outstanding professional talents for the State and the autonomous region. Moreover, the teaching quality and academic level are widely recognized by the society and earned the college high prestige.

IMU Campus Links

Copyright@Inner Mongolia University | Address: No.235 West College Road,Saihan District,Hohhot Inner Mongolia,P.R.China  | Zip code: 010021| E-mail: | Mongolia ICP No. 05005324